Gluten Free, Vegan Lasagna

Lasagna… Yum.
I used to work at an Italian Restaurant, where the lasagna was extremely popular. Being a vegetarian, I didn’t ever try the famous lasagna, but spoke about wanting to try it. One of the owners of the restaurant was sweet enough (and sneaky enough) to surprise me at the end of the night with a vegetarian lasagna just for me! It was soooooo good.

Since then, I have cut more things out of my diet, such as gluten, dairy, and egg. Because of this, I haven’t enjoyed a delicious cheesy, gluten-filled Italian dish in a while.

Sad. I know.

So, I decided to try making a lasagna that is allergen and meat free, but still tastes delicious. I would say that I nailed it on the first try, and I think the empty casserole dish and lasagna-filled bellies in the Parry household would agree!

So. If you’re anything like Mr. Parry and I and you have food allergies/sensitivities, but LOVE great food, I encourage you to try this recipe. You won’t regret it!

la

INGREDIENTS

1 Cup Fresh Spinach (I pressed it all down a bit, so it didn’t fit loosely into the measuring cup)

1 Small Zucchini, peeled and thinly sliced

1 Small Yellow Squash, peeled and thinly sliced

1 cup Chopped Onion

1 box Gluten Free Lasagna Pasta (I use Tinkyada Organic Brown Rice Lasagne)

1 32 oz Jar of Marinara Sauce

2 tbs Minced Garlic

Vegan Ricotta:

1 cup Cashews (I used unsalted, but salted cashews are fine too!)

1/2 cup Hot Water

Juice from 1/2 a lemon

1/2 tsp Garlic Powder

1/2 tsp Basil

1/4 tsp Oregano

1/4 tsp Salt

 

Procedure

  1. Preheat the oven at 450º
  2. Follow the directions on the box of pasta, and get the Lasagna pasta cooked
  3. Place the cashews and hot water in a blender, and blend together until a creamy, lump free mixture forms
  4. In a small saucepan, combine the cashew mixture, the lemon juice, garlic powder, basil, oregano, and salt and cook over medium heat until the mixture begins to thicken (about 5-10 minutes)

    vegan ricotta
    Vegan Ricotta
  5. Layer the lasagna! This doesn’t necessarily have to be done exactly the same way every time-get creative if you’d like! In a 2 1/2 qt casserole dish, I spread marinara sauce on the bottom, then layered as follows:

Pasta
Squash
Zucchini
Sauce
Pasta
Vegan Ricotta
Spinach
Onion
Pasta
Garlic
Sauce

 *Tip: To avoid wasting any of the sauce, add some water to the jar when there is only a little bit left, replace the lid and shake it up, then pour the watered-down sauce on top

6. Cover dish with lid or foil, and bake in the oven for 25 minutes

7. Take the lasagna out of the oven, uncover the dish, then return to the oven and bake for another 10 minutes uncovered.

And there you have it! A super easy, delicious meal. Although the lasagna does not have any real cheese in it, the vegan ricotta mixture gives the lasagna a rich, creamy filling that can almost make you forget you ever missed the real thing!

After eating this lasagna, my husband and I agreed that doubling the vegan ricotta would make it even better!

Lasagna is such a flexible dish, that you can add almost any vegetable and it would taste just as good. You can also use real ricotta and top it of with some fresh mozzarella if you don’t have the dairy allergy, or you can add some ground beef or ground turkey if you are not a vegetarian. So many possibilities, and not a very hard dish to make at all!

If you try this recipe, please post a picture and share it with me!

Thank you for reading, and God bless

xoxo Mrs. Parry

Leave a Reply

