DIY Table Numbers

Hello, and welcome to Being Mrs. Parry! Not sure what brought you to my neck of the woods, but I’m sure glad you’re here!

Today, I will be sharing my first DIY tutorial with you all. I have a ton that I’m itching to share, but we’ll start with a tutorial on how I made the table numbers for my wedding!

This is such a fun project, and it doesn’t take a lot of materials. If you would like to add a super personal touch to your table numbers for a wedding, party, etc. add some photos! I’ve seen this done in numerous ways, but I’ll give a tutorial on how I went about creating these table numbers for my wedding! 0000

000

For these table numbers, I sandwiched each number with a photo of myself and my husband at the age of the number. Above, you see Table One, which has a photo of me at age one on the left and Matt at age one on the right.

To create these table numbers, I used a free online photo-editing website called picmonkey.com . You can use programs such as Paint or Photoshop as well. For this tutorial, I will be using picmonkey.com.

  1. First things first, you will need to find the photos you wish to use. This may be a quick process if your photos are already on your computer. If they are not, be ready to spend some time on this step. My mother and I spent hours upon hours searching for her stash and my mom’s stash of baby pictures, being sure to find a photo of me and my husband at every age up to 20. Because these were all printed photos, we had to scan each one using a scanner, and upload them onto the computer. This took so long! (If you need to do this, follow the directions on your scanner to get the photos on your computer, and save them all in the same folder for easy access).
  2. Once all of your photos are picked out, you will begin designing your table numbers on picmonkey.com. The homepage of the website should look like this. You do not need to create an account, but you can if you want access to all features. 1
  3. Click the “Collage” Icon. As soon as you click this icon, a window should pop up for you to upload photos from your computer. Select the photo(s) you wish to use for your first table number.
  4. You should now see the window below, with your selected photos on the left and four icons to the left of those. Click on the second icon from the top to select the layout for your photos. Under the category titled “Cards”, I use the second layout to the right. (You may select any layout you like, but for the purpose of this tutorial, I will be using this one)11
  5. Once you have selected the layout, make the middle column smaller by simple dragging the dotted lines toward the middle. Try to make it so that the middle column (where the number will be) is thin but can fit a number, and the two side columns (where the photos will be) slightly larger than the middle, and are equal in size. 1
  6. Refer back to the four icons to the very left of the page. Click on the top icon to return to your photos. To place a photo in the layout, simply drag them one by one and drop them in the desired column.11
  7.   After the photos are in the columns you want them to be in, you may need to adjust, crop, or rotate them. To do this, hover your mouse over the individual photo that needs adjusting, then click the “Edit” that appears in the top corner of the photo. A window will pop up that will give you the necessary options for adjusting. Do so accordingly :). If, after rotating/doing any adjusting, the photos are off-center, you can drag them and recenter them. 1.png1
  8. Once you are happy with the way the photos are, it’s time to add the number! For this step, we need to get the the “Edit” page of Picmonkey. Do not move on to this step until you are certain that the photos are just where you want them, as you will not be able to go back. Click the “edit” on the top of the page. A window will appear that asks you if you are certain you want to open the Editor. If you are, click “Open in Editor”. Now the page should look like this:1
  9. To add the number, click on the “Tt” Icon at the very left of the page. This will bring you to a list of font options. The fonts with a crown symbol next to them are only available to those who pay for the “Royale”features. Do not fret, there are SO many options for those who do not choose to pay for an upgraded account! Click on the desired font, then click “Add Text”. When the text box appears, click it, then begin typing. 11
  10. Your number should still appear to be rather small unless you’ve figure out how to adjust the size. If you have, that’s great! If not, simply click on the photo so that the text box is no longer active. Now, a box should appear around the number with small circles in the corners of the box. Click on a circle and drag outward it until the number is as large as you want it to be, then recenter the number by dragging it to the center of the middle column. 11.png
  11. Finally, your first table number is designed!! if you click anywhere outside of the text box, the “Text” editing window should disappear. Now you can finish up by clicking the “Save” icon on the top of the page. You will be prompted to name the photo, then continue by clicking “Save To My Computer”. If you are ready to save it, then complete that process. Otherwise, you can add to your design by selecting textures, colors, effects, stickers, etc. by clicking on the icons on the very left of the page. Have fun!! If you do decide to add more to your design, you can follow the saving process afterwards, then move on to the next table number 🙂
  12. You’ve designed each of your table numbers and you are ready to print them. There are many ways to do this, but I chose to print them at my local office supply store on white card stock (remember, you will want a sturdy paper such as card stock or photo paper so that the numbers stand well). Print two copies of each table number.
  13. Next, cut each of the table numbers out, making sure they are all cut to the same size.
  14. Once each table number is cut out, glue each one back-to-back with its IDENTICAL table number. (one glued back-to-back with one). I used a generic glue stick, but anything with adhesive should work. Other great options include Mod-Podge, double sided tape, photo tape, or regular liquid glue.
  15. Lastly, you will want to stand your numbers on something so that they are centerpiece-ready! I bought table number stands from Amazon (click to see the ones I bought). The ones I picked are not super stylish, but are not super expensive. There are many options, so don’t limit yourself to what I picked!

 

These table numbers were so much fun to make! I hope you enjoy them as much as I did. It was fun going through all of the pictures with my mother in law, and we all got a good laugh when we saw the finished products. At the wedding, people has a great time walking around to see the different photos that we used, which we loved as well.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(Photos by Bradley Lanphear)

If you decide to use this tutorial for your table numbers, please share your results with me! I would love to see what you come up with! 🙂 You can send me links by using the form below.

 

As always, thank you so  much for reading! Have a fantastic rest of the week!

xoxo Mrs. Parry

Leave a Reply

