Meal Planning Monday: Orange Chicken

Happy Spring, everyone!

I don’t know about you, but I am loving this sunshine! I’m even loving the rain we’re getting because it’s not snow. Don’t get me wrong, I do like the snow, but I was definitely not prepared for this winter! We had such a mellow winter our first year here in Montana, but our second winter was pretty brutal.

Anyway, this Monday I bring to you a recipe from last week’s dinner menu: Orange Chicken!

Now, the recipe I shared last week was super simple, but this week’s is just a tad bit more difficult. This recipe will require more dishes and will likely take a bit longer to prepare, but it’s so worth it! I have to admit, this recipe was a total experiment (as most of mine are), so I will do my best to get all of the proportions right.
Here ya go!

Ingredients:

  • 2-4 Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breast, cubed (In addition to 2 chicken breasts, I used some vegan “chicken” for myself. If using all chicken, I would recommend 3-4 breasts)
  • Zest and Juice from 2 Oranges
  • 2 tbsp of Tapioca Starch (I use this because I have a sensitivity to corn, but I’m sure corn starch would work great!)
  • 1/4-1/3 cup of Soy Sauce
  • 1/2 tsp of Ground Ginger
  • 1 tsp Garlic Powder
  • 2-3 tbsp of Sesame Oil
  • 3 tbsp Maple Syrup or Brown Sugar
  • Ground Pepper to taste
  • (optional) Steamed Broccoli

Directions:

  1. Heat up oil in a pan over medium heat. Add chicken, and cook until browned.
  2. Add orange zest, orange juice, soy sauce, tapioca starch, garlic powder, and ginger in a blender and blend until a pasty consistency forms.
  3. Once chicken is cooked, add the paste to the pan and allow the paste to boil slightly. This should cause it to thicken and become a bit more sticky.
  4. Add maple syrup, then turn the heat down to a low setting once the sauce has reached the consistency you prefer. Some prefer a thinner sauce, while others prefer thicker/chewier.
  5. Taste the sauce, then add pepper to taste and more soy sauce if you’d like.
  6. Serve over a bed of rice, noodles, or simply eat the chicken by itself. A great addition is also steamed broccoli! We served  it over a bed of short grain brown rice. Yummy!
Sorry for the crappy cell phone picture, but the front pan has the chicken and the back pan has the vegan “chicken”

This was my second attempt at creating an orange sauce for chicken, and found that using 2 oranges as opposed to one really changed the flavor and gave the sauce exactly what I hoped for. After all, the orange is supposed to be the prominent flavor, right?

I hope you’ve enjoyed this week’s edition of Meal Planning Monday! If you’ve got a picture of your weekly menu or a recipe you’d like to share, please do so in the comments below! I’d love to see what you’re cooking up!

 

xoxo

Mrs. Parry

Leave a Reply

